Antidepressant not specified at Clara Maass Medical Center

1 Clara Maass Dr, Belleville, NJ · RWJBarnabas Health · · NPI 1902901333

Source: hospital's published price file ↗ · Published Mar 4, 2026 · Ingested Sep 10, 2026

$57.08

Cash price

?

Discounted cash price

What a hospital charges a self-pay patient who pays directly, without going through insurance — usually well below the gross charge.

Example: A CT scan has a $3,200 gross charge but an $850 discounted cash price. Ask for it by name when scheduling — hospitals don't always advertise it up front.

Full explanation →

What you pay up front if you don't use insurance.

$287.00

Gross charge

?

Gross charge (chargemaster price)

The hospital's full, undiscounted list price — pulled from its internal "chargemaster" price list. Almost no one actually pays this.

Example: A chest X-ray has a gross charge of $1,450. The same hospital's discounted cash price for the same X-ray is $180 — the gross charge mostly anchors negotiations, not what patients pay.

Full explanation →

The hospital's undiscounted list price — almost no one pays this.

$17.49 with United Healthcare vs $273.97 with Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of New Jersey — same scan, same building. Share

Negotiated rates by payer
?

Negotiated rate

The price a specific insurance plan agreed to pay the hospital for a service — it varies by insurer, and even by plan within the same insurer.

Example: The same knee MRI has a negotiated rate of $904 with one insurer's PPO plan and $1,509 with another's — identical hospital, identical scan.

Full explanation →

Payer
?

Payer

The insurance company footing the bill — Aetna, UnitedHealthcare, Medicare, and so on.

Example: "Blue Cross Blue Shield" is the payer. Its negotiated rate for an MRI might be $904, while a different payer's negotiated rate for the same scan is $1,509.

Full explanation →
Plan
?

Plan

The specific product an insurer sells — e.g. "Blue Cross PPO 500" — which sets your deductible, coinsurance and negotiated rates.

Example: Two people both insured by Aetna can owe very different amounts for the same MRI: $50 with an HMO plan's flat copay, or the full $1,200 toward a high-deductible PPO plan's unmet deductible.

Full explanation →
Negotiated rate vs. cash
United Healthcare Community Plan $17.49 ↓ -69%
Fidelis Care NJ Family Care $17.83 ↓ -69%
Aetna Better Health $40.03 ↓ -30%
Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of New Jersey Omnia $120.74 ↑ +112%
Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of New Jersey State Benefit Plan $149.98 ↑ +163%
Cigna Local Plus $151.04 ↑ +165%
Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of New Jersey Managed $153.68 ↑ +169%
Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of New Jersey Non-Managed $158.48 ↑ +178%
Wellpoint NJ Family Care $163.59 ↑ +187%
Aetna HMO $169.33 ↑ +197%
Aetna PPO $169.33 ↑ +197%
First Health Commercial $172.20 ↑ +202%
Cigna HMO $191.94 ↑ +236%
Cigna PPO $202.16 ↑ +254%
Amerihealth Regional Preferred $216.22 ↑ +279%
Amerihealth Local Value $216.22 ↑ +279%
Qualcare Inc HMO/POS $220.41 ↑ +286%
Qualcare Inc PPO/WC $235.05 ↑ +312%
Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of New Jersey Worker's Comp $251.89 ↑ +341%
Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of New Jersey PIP $273.97 ↑ +380%

Visitor-reported prices

visitor-reported
Report what you paid sign in to post

Comments

Add a comment sign in to post

Antidepressant not specified at other New-jersey hospitals

Hospital City Cash price Negotiated range
Trinitas Regional Medical Center Elizabeth $53.86 $17.49 – $22.86
Cooperman Barnabas Medical Center Livingston $60.81 $17.49 – $17.83
Community Medical Center Toms River $59.52 $17.49 – $17.83
Newark Beth Israel Medical Center Newark $59.78 $17.49 – $19.99
Jersey City Medical Center Jersey City $59.63 $17.49 – $17.83
Monmouth Medical Center Long Branch $62.79 $17.49 – $17.83
Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital Hamilton Hamilton Township $47.03 $17.49 – $17.99
Monmouth Medical Center Southern Campus Lakewood $68.21 $17.49 – $17.83

All New-jersey hospitals for this procedure →