Antidepressant not specified at Dickenson Community Hospital

312 HOSPITAL DR., CLINTWOOD, VA · Balladhealth · · NPI 1285685727

Source: hospital's published price file ↗ · Published Mar 23, 2026 · Ingested Sep 16, 2026

$13.11

Cash price

?

Discounted cash price

What a hospital charges a self-pay patient who pays directly, without going through insurance — usually well below the gross charge.

Example: A CT scan has a $3,200 gross charge but an $850 discounted cash price. Ask for it by name when scheduling — hospitals don't always advertise it up front.

Full explanation →

What you pay up front if you don't use insurance.

$57.00

Gross charge

?

Gross charge (chargemaster price)

The hospital's full, undiscounted list price — pulled from its internal "chargemaster" price list. Almost no one actually pays this.

Example: A chest X-ray has a gross charge of $1,450. The same hospital's discounted cash price for the same X-ray is $180 — the gross charge mostly anchors negotiations, not what patients pay.

Full explanation →

The hospital's undiscounted list price — almost no one pays this.

$17.10 with BLUE CROSS vs $57.00 with SEVEN CORNERS, INC. — same scan, same building. Share

Negotiated rates by payer
?

Negotiated rate

The price a specific insurance plan agreed to pay the hospital for a service — it varies by insurer, and even by plan within the same insurer.

Example: The same knee MRI has a negotiated rate of $904 with one insurer's PPO plan and $1,509 with another's — identical hospital, identical scan.

Full explanation →

Payer
?

Payer

The insurance company footing the bill — Aetna, UnitedHealthcare, Medicare, and so on.

Example: "Blue Cross Blue Shield" is the payer. Its negotiated rate for an MRI might be $904, while a different payer's negotiated rate for the same scan is $1,509.

Full explanation →
Plan
?

Plan

The specific product an insurer sells — e.g. "Blue Cross PPO 500" — which sets your deductible, coinsurance and negotiated rates.

Example: Two people both insured by Aetna can owe very different amounts for the same MRI: $50 with an HMO plan's flat copay, or the full $1,200 toward a high-deductible PPO plan's unmet deductible.

Full explanation →
Negotiated rate vs. cash
BLUE CROSS ANTHEM MEDICARE VIRGINIA $17.10 ↑ +30%
UNITED HEALTHCARE UNITED HEALTHCARE MEDICARE $17.10 ↑ +30%
UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA $17.10 ↑ +30%
SENTARA HEALTH SENTARA MEDICARE $17.10 ↑ +30%
AMERIGROUP AMERIGROUP MEDICARE WELLPOINT $17.10 ↑ +30%
ALLCARE MEDICARE ALLCARE MEDICARE $17.10 ↑ +30%
MANAGED MEDICAIRE MANAGED MEDICAIRE $17.10 ↑ +30%
AETNA AETNA HEALTHCARE MEDICARE $17.10 ↑ +30%
HUMANA HUMANA MEDICARE $17.37 ↑ +32%
AETNA AETNA BETTER HEALTH OF VIRGINIA MEDICARE $17.61 ↑ +34%
MOLINA HEALTHCARE MOLINA HEALTHCARE MEDICARE $17.78 ↑ +36%
DEVOTED HEALTH PLAN DEVOTED HEALTH PLAN MEDICARE $17.96 ↑ +37%
NHC ADVANTAGE NHC ADVANTAGE $17.96 ↑ +37%
CIGNA HEALTHCARE CIGNA MEDICARE $17.96 ↑ +37%
MEDCOST MEDCOST VHN $19.95 ↑ +52%
UNITED HEALTHCARE UNITED HEALTHCARE MEDICAID VIRGINIA $20.77 ↑ +58%
OPTIMA HEALTH OPTIMA HEALTH MEDICAID $20.77 ↑ +58%
SENTARA HEALTH SENTARA HEALTH $21.03 ↑ +60%
AMBETTER AMBETTER $21.09 ↑ +61%
BLUE CROSS ANTHEM HLTHKEEP MEDICIAD $21.39 ↑ +63%
AETNA AETNA BETTER HEALTH OF VIRGINIA $21.60 ↑ +65%
MOLINA HEALTHCARE MOLINA HEALTHCARE MEDICAID $21.60 ↑ +65%
CIGNA HEALTHCARE CIGNA OPEN ACCESS PLUS $22.17 ↑ +69%
CIGNA HEALTHCARE CIGNA HMO $22.17 ↑ +69%
CIGNA HEALTHCARE CIGNA INDIVIDUAL FAMILY PLAN $24.40 ↑ +86%
CIGNA HEALTHCARE CIGNA PPO $27.53 ↑ +110%
BLUE CROSS BLUE CROSS BALLAD HEALTH EMPLOYEE $39.90 ↑ +204%
AETNA AETNA $45.60 ↑ +248%
SEVEN CORNERS, INC. SEVEN CORNERS, INC. $57.00 ↑ +335%

Visitor-reported prices

visitor-reported
Report what you paid sign in to post

Comments

Add a comment sign in to post

Antidepressant not specified at other Virginia hospitals

Hospital City Cash price Negotiated range
Johnston Memorial Hospital ABINGDON $13.20 $14.53 – $15.26
Russell County Hospital LEBANON $13.20 $14.53 – $15.26
Lonesome Pine Hospital BIG STONE GAP $13.20 $14.97 – $15.26
Smyth County Community Hospital MARION $13.20 $14.53 – $15.11
Lee County Community Hospital PENNINGTON GAP $13.11 $20.77 – $21.60
Sentara Martha Jefferson Hospital Charlottesville not published $0.03 – $0.03
Sentara Northern Virginia Medical Center Woodbridge not published $7.56 – $7.56
Sentara Halifax Regional Hospital South Boston not published $15.12 – $15.12

All Virginia hospitals for this procedure →